General Discussion Introduce Yourself!!! » Hi from Kansas Rss Feed  
Moderators: IndoIronYanti, k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2010-10-26 9:32 PM

Subject: Hi from Kansas
Just wanted to introduce myself.  I'm sure my story is pretty common here - former serious athlete who has slipped from the glory days.  I was a serious soccer player in high school (played some club college), and used to be able to run 5:20 miles like it was a warmup.  Then college took over, exercise got put on the backburner, well...you know the story.  I've been lifting weights for the past 2-3 years, and have bulked up a bunch and added a ton of strength, but I'm not happy with where I'm at physically and I want to regain some of that cardio that I had.  I'm only 24, so I know I have time to reclaim it, but I'm so far down the ladder that it's going to take a while.  I'm a big guy with very broad shoulders and chest (get mistaken for a college football player a lot), so running is not terribly natural to me.

But I'm motivated this time, I just need some help with plans, etc.  I don't want to be the "former athlete" who everyone jokes with about not being in shape anymore.  So basically, I'm ready.

2010-10-26 9:50 PM
in reply to: #3174107

User image

Master
Denison Texas
Subject: RE: Hi from Kansas
Welcome. I wish I was 24 and trying to get in shape.
seriously, your still young enough to adapt fast..good luck, have fun
2010-10-27 8:43 AM

Thanks, I'm looking forward to it, and having this internet support group will really help, I think.
2010-10-27 10:52 AM

User image

Alpharetta, Georgia
Bronze member
Welcome to BT!
Where in Kansas are ya? I live in Wichita, and know there are plenty of BTers in the KC area.

This site is great for support as well as FREE plans! Check out the "programs" button at the top.