General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Newbie offseason confusion -- how do I approach this? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2010-12-17 1:25 PM

User image

Master
Just South of Boston
Subject: Newbie offseason confusion -- how do I approach this?
So, I'm a newbie with a grand total of 2 sprints under my belt - both done in 2nd half of 2010. I LOVED it, and am planning on a few races next season including a 1/2 marathon in March, a couple of sprint tris, and ideally an Oly distance later in the season. As I get further into the offseason, I feel my confusion growing over how to approach both off season workouts & planning training for the next few winter months, and then transitioning into race training next year. Right now my workouts are all swim & run focused as I feel I need the most work in those areas. I'm likely getting a new bike in the next couple months, and will get back on the road once that happens.

So, my question to the greater BT community is how do I move forward in an organized way? Since I'm not training for a specific tri at the moment (althought I AM following a 1/2 mary training plan right now), a tri specific plan doesn't seem to make sense. Do I get a maintenace plan to take me through winter, then move into race training (in line w/ the race calendar I'll have set)? Do I just fill in swim/bike workouts around the 1/2 mary plan?  Some other approach? Thanks for your help.

2010-12-17 1:36 PM
in reply to: #3252593

User image

Master
Westlake Village , Ca.
Subject: RE: Newbie offseason confusion -- how do I approach this?
Basically....yes.

Since you are just getting going, I would suggest working and focusing on your worst discipline...sounds like swimming and running. Following your 1/2 Mary plan is a great idea. Just throw in some swims as well...

You don't need to get real fancy at this point. Consistency will get you farther than anything right now.