General Discussion Triathlon Talk » New Triathlete New Bike choices Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2011-01-09 9:23 AM

New user

Minnesota
Subject: New Triathlete New Bike choices
Yes the same old story I'm new and i want a new bike, Last year I trained on a 25 year old roadie.
 Well here we go Nytro.com complete Tri package probably smartest choice but I dont like the bike( 2010 Kestrel 105)  for $1999. Or  LBS 2010 Jamis Xenith T for $2000. or 2010 Jamis Xenith T1 $2400. Or Felt B16 $1999.
 Another basic question I love well I like alot the Jamis bikes With the "Hidden bakes". Why is that brand not very popular?
 And yes I need Tri kit, Wet suit, pedals, bike shoes.

2011-01-10 2:47 PM
in reply to: #3287846

New user

CT
Subject: RE: New Triathlete New Bike choices
i am new to the tri/tt bike myself, so i am not giving advise, but i just bought the 2010 jamis xentih T. i liked the hidden front brake too. what it came down to for me was the $2100 jamis from a not so close lbs to a really close lbs with a $1499 felt b16. The xenith seemed much more bike for the money. i was on a felt road bike and i was happy with it, but wanted to try something else. i also compared what the lbs was going to give me for buying a bike from them, the jamis dealer was going to give me free tune ups for the life of the bike, plus a complete free fitting. That was an amazing deal. The felt dealer was going to give me free tune ups for a year and 10% off accessories for 90 days. not bad, but I liked the tune ups better. all in all, the 2010 deals are great, and now is the time to buy. Hard for me in the northeast because I wont be able to get it on the road until late march at the soonest.

i did think the felt b16 looked sharp and was well designed for the price, but the components could have been better, along with the factory hubs. but I guess with a $1499 price tag there is some wiggle room with upgrades.