General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Why my IT Band issues aren't IT Band issues? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2011-03-04 12:35 PM

User image

Expert
, Michigan
Subject: Why my IT Band issues aren't IT Band issues?

Below is an excerpt from research I'm doing about a dull pain on my left fibular head. I'm not at all convinved my issues are ITB and have been the doc, PT, etc... with the same old same old, stretching, massaging, mainplating, strenghtening, resting etc... with no improvement. I'm wondering if anyone has any thoughts about the paragraph below.

HI all, I am a Physical Therapist and a long distance runner.  Been running for years and last Saturday about just under a mile had a sharp pain over the fibular head.  I stopped and mobilized it myself and was able to run rest of my planned 8.4 miles that day no other problems.  Figured I'd had a minor misstep or something that I just didn't remember.  Sunday was a different story.  I always run 20 or so miles on Sunday and only 0.3 into it and my fibular head hurt and wouldn't stop.  I had to stop and just knew if I continued it wouldn't get better that day.  I started then to work on what the causes could be and corrected for everything that I could correct.  I'm very body aware and the next day re looked at how I was running and I was doing a mid foot strike and didn't seem to have an issue there.  My shoes were getting ready to need replaced but I'd been using the same brand/shoe for years without an issue.  I did switch to a pair with a few less miles on them, just in case. I also ordered a new pair and did some research and decided on a different shoe (scary for all of us to switch brands from one we know works, but I wasn't willing to give up running) I looked at the cambering of the road and decided to run in the middle when possible or switch sides.  After 10 years running the roads where we lived now I doubted this was it, but who knows?  I also pulled out a knee sleeve to give m