General Discussion Triathlon Talk » --FLYING MOUNT!!!-- Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply

of 3

2011-04-12 10:23 AM

User image

Pro
Seacoast, NH!
Subject: --FLYING MOUNT!!!--

So how do you actually practice this?  On the grass in the front lawn?  I figured I've been doing this darn sport for a few years now...it's about time I picked up the shoes-on-the-bike-flying-mount.

So what's your advice.  And I want this to be a non ball-crushing smooth event!

2011-04-12 10:25 AM
in reply to: #3442116

User image

Subject: RE: --FLYING MOUNT!!!--
I put the left shoe forward and step on it as I walk the bike across the mount line, swinging my right leg over as it rolls. No flying mount and no undue breakage of the bike from my lard butt hitting it off center.

2011-04-12 10:26 AM

User image

Master
Redlands, CA
If I could pull it off I'd be playing basketball instead of triathlon.  I'm way too uncoordinated!
2011-04-12 10:28 AM

User image

Champion
Brandon, MS
I did a flying mount once and thought I'd lost the ability to make babies.

Like Daniel, I run out with the bike, place my left foot on the left shoe, push off with right foot and swing it over.  Get up to speed pedaling on top of the shoes, then just strap in from there.

As for practice?  I just do it every time I get on my bike.
2011-04-12 10:30 AM

User image

Elite
Miami
2011-04-12 10:30 AM

Iron Donkey
, Wisconsin

Well, you certainly shouldn't do this -

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=62oFoUJQ-x8

2011-04-12 10:33 AM
in reply to: #3442133

User image

Pro
Seacoast, NH!

sesh - 2011-04-12 11:28 AM I did a flying mount once and thought I'd lost the ability to make babies.

Like Daniel, I run out with the bike, place my left foot on the left shoe, push off with right foot and swing it over.  Get up to speed pedaling on top of the shoes, then just strap in from there.

As for practice?  I just do it every time I get on my bike.