General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Road Race - need opinion Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2011-04-26 10:11 AM

User image

Subject: Road Race - need opinion
Needs some opinions:

I'm training for Ironman Wisc. and am considering doing a road race this weekend ~ 48 mi. I've never done one before and was planning on racing Cat. 5. However, I've heard some horror stories about Cat. 5's and crashing. Last thing I need is a broken collar bone going into tri. season.

Are cat 5 races really that dangerous? Is there a way to minimizing crashing - reasonably? Or, should I just wait until next year to get my ears wet - Ironman is my "A" race.

Thanks.

2011-04-26 1:49 PM
in reply to: #3466451

Cinnaminson, NJ
Subject: RE: Road Race - need opinion

From someone who is mainly a bike racer and ofcourse spent my time in Cat 5 races (heck I still have to do 4/5 fields what i am saying).........here is my outlook:

Road Races are generally much safer than criteriums.   I would say do the race if:

You occasionaly do group rides and are comfortable yourself riding in a pack

Rain won't be a factor (even if you can ride comfortably in it there is always atleast one rider in the group that gets nervous even with a few drops)

Find out a bit if you can about the course and history -- some races/course are just prone to crashes -- for instance if its flat and has a "yellow line rule" it might blow up into a crash near the sprint.   If its a hilly race just be weary of those who can't climb (stay at the front and/or don't get boxed in) but its likely a hilly cat 5 race will most definitley break up and become more of an endurance event and might feel like the bike leg of a Tri depending on how hilly.

I'd say they are pretty safe (Road races) just keep your eyes out.  If you see anybody wearing a livestrong outfit riding a trek, or a radioshack kit or someone riding a US Postal bike -- stay away from them.

2011-04-26 3:05 PM

User image

Master