General Discussion Introduce Yourself!!! » Training Program Effectiveness Rss Feed  
Moderators: IndoIronYanti, k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2011-05-08 7:26 PM

Subject: Training Program Effectiveness

If you've gone through the training programs on this site, what do you think?  I'm a novice, training for my first tri (Xterra Olympic in August), and could use some advice.  I've been building my base and swimming, but this week will be the beginning of the 16 week countdown.  Are these good training programs?  Thanks,  Dan

2011-05-09 5:10 PM
in reply to: #3488233

User image

Melon Presser
Subject: RE: Training Program Effectiveness

These are AWESOME training programs. Some are awesomer than others but you can't go wrong with any of them.

In my opinion, the training plans alone (much less all the other amazing features and info on this site, and no, nobody pays me ) make the paid memberships way more than worth it.

The thing to remember for an Xterra (or any tri) is make your training specific to what your race will be. In other words, you should be trying to do as much of your training off-road as you can.

Good luck ... and welcome to BT and triathlon!

2011-05-11 5:46 AM
in reply to: #3490181

User image

Expert
Somewhere in the Swamps of Philly

I've got 4 more weeks left of the 20 week half ironman plan and can't say enough good things about it.  As a newbie, a plan will give you automatic structure to your workouts and will guide you down a path that will be less fraught with rookie mistakes.  It is up to you to bring the discipline and hard work.  Also, the training groups are a real resource as you get the benefit of others' perspectives and advice. 

2011-05-11 8:52 AM
in reply to: #3488233

User image

Williamsburg, Virginia