General Discussion Triathlon Talk » O2 doping? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2011-05-25 9:32 PM

User image

Extreme Veteran
Mayberry
Subject: O2 doping?

since doping seems to be the topic of the day.  is the use of straight o2 considered doping? 

My wife's into glass working and just received the oxygen concentrator she needs to use with her new torch.  I figgure there's "oxygen bars" out there and she just bought the home version.

so is this officially considered doping or no?

as a newbie I have about a million questions.  I'll try to glean the answers from reading posts, but I'll interject freqeuntly as well as evidenced above. 

2011-05-25 9:43 PM
in reply to: #3519224

User image

Extreme Veteran
Chicago
Subject: RE: O2 doping?

I may be wrong about this but athletes that dope on, say EPO, boost their red blood cells so that they are ABLE to take up more O2.  So I think it would be overkill to "dope" on O2 simply because your RBC's have already taken up most of what they can of O2 as you breathe normally anyway.  Like I said, I may be completely wrong about this...it's only what I understand from anatomy class!

What's with all the doping stuff lately anyway?  I thought this was a hobby...a way to be fit and healthy.  Kinda crazy to me if someone is just trying to get an age group award.

Edited by tbcoffee 2011-05-25 9:47 PM
2011-05-25 10:04 PM

User image

New user

I agree with Tbcoffee.  If you consider that most pro triathletes travel to higher altitude, where there is a lack of oxygen, to increase the amount of RBC's in the body, then come down to race, where the increase in RBC's now take in more oxygen, the opposite should be true.  If you take in more higher quality oxygen, would the RBC go down?

Stick with a good training plan, face to face coach and upgrades to your hardware, this will do more for your race performance than O2!