General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Swim Coaches or those trying to give swim advice Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2011-06-14 6:54 PM

User image

Master
North edge of nowhere
Subject: Swim Coaches or those trying to give swim advice

I've always been a horrible swimmer. When I started training for triathlon a year ago, I could barely make 250 meters before I was completely exhausted. My technique was horrible!!

I'm pretty sure it's from T.I., but I can't swear to it, but somewhere I heard "lower your head". I did, by bending at the neck. No improvement. My feet were still dragging. I got more advice, this time about "planing". I couldn't fit it in with what I was doing. After a year of (bad) training, I did my first tri and barely made it through the 500m swim. I literally almost quit after 200m. I did the last 200m backstroke because I was so exhausted. My girlfriend was afraid I'd never swim again because I panicked in the water, but I was able to push through it.

So, fast forward to today. I got back in the pool and did my usual 2:25/100m. I slowed myself down and wasn't feeling good about my swimming. Then I remembered something having been said about "bring your butt up higher in the water". That little change in phrasing dropped 26 seconds off my 100m time with me expending 85% of the effort. For the first time, I look forward to my next swim session.

What I'm getting at is that I've had coaches and teachers say the same thing 100 times and not understand why I didn't get it. A small change in phrasing can make a huge difference. I instruct in a very different capacity and I've seen it there; I find a different way to phrase what I'm trying to get across, and suddenly the student gets it. If I can't figure out another way to say it, I invite another instructor to work with my student on whatever the challenging part is, so that another perspective may find another way to get the idea across.