General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Advice on new running shoes Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2011-06-17 3:06 PM

User image

Extreme Veteran
Long Island, NY
Subject: Advice on new running shoes

This may get a little long winded...

I have been running in the Saucony Triumphs for probably 3 years now.  The are a neutral cushioned shoe but very heavy.  I originally switched to them because I liked the extra cushion they had vs any other shoe I had run in (Saucony Ride, Asics Gel Nimbus)  I feel like they are just too heavy of a shoe for me now.   I have no injuries from using them...they just feel heavy every time I run in them.  I had asked my local running shoe store about trying a lighter shoe over the winter, but at that time I had alot of weight I needed to lose and really needed the extra cushioning I guess.    I have lost about 22 lbs in the past 2.5 months and am getting closer to my ideal weight so I  figured I would revisit the idea of switching to a lighter shoe.  

I figure I have 3 options:  switch to a lighter shoe all the time;  switch to a lighter shoe for racing and shorter training runs and do my long runs in the Triumphs;  Don't change anything and stick with the Triumph.  

I have little time to log so my logs are not up to date.  I am following a HIM plan for my HIM in the end of August.  I am running 3x a week right now- around 20 miles a week and will be building mileage thru august.  I also am planning to run my first marathon in November.  

So looking for suggestions on what to do??  Any recommended lightweight neutral shoes?  

2011-06-17 3:26 PM
in reply to: #3554741

User image

Extreme Veteran
Tennessee
Subject: RE: Advice on new running shoes