General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Legs & Lungs Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2011-07-15 10:14 PM

Regular
American Fork, Utah
Subject: Legs & Lungs

Okay, first of all, I'm new to any type of endurance training.  I have been running a mile or 2 about 4-5 times a week for about a month.  I also have been riding bike around 5 miles maybe 2-3 times a week for about 3 weeks.

My question is this......is it common for your legs to be sore when riding bike and your lungs to be sore when running?  Well, I guess I know it is common, but how long does it take for that to go away, or does it never go away if you are increasing the distance or intensity?

Yesterday I pulled my 2 youngest daughters (I have 4 total - ages 13, 10, 6 and 2.5) in the bike trailer (with hills) for 5 miles and my legs were killing me when I got done, still are actually.

I ride a mountain bike with under-inflated tires (my pump won't do more than 30 psi) so that doesn't help I'm sure.

Is it more important to get the 5 "hard" miles of riding in or would it make more sense to get a road bike and go longer time and distance?

I know, a lot of questions, but I trust there will also be a lot of answers too.

Thanks,

FERG

2011-07-15 10:22 PM
in reply to: #3599185

User image

Extreme Veteran
Springfield, OH
Subject: RE: Legs & Lungs

Nothing should be sore WHILE doing something, unless you're still sore from a previous workout.  Do you mean they simply hurt when performing these activities?  Soreness usually refers to pain and stiffness post-workout.  The more you do an activity, the more you adapt, the less the soreness.  Of course, then you just ramp up the effort more and you're sore again.

I suspect you're really just referring to a burning sensation in your legs and lungs during these activities.  It's sort of part of the game if you're really exerting yourself.  As for your lungs though, depending on how severe, might want to make sure you don't have something like asthma.