General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Turning a mountain bike into road bike? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2011-07-18 3:40 AM

User image

Regular
Alaska
Subject: Turning a mountain bike into road bike?

So I bought this Trek Mamba 29"er because I could swap between MTB and road tires for the different races I plan on doing.  I am new to racing and know very little about bikes and components and what-not.  I am about to switch over to road tires for my next race, but I am thinking I should get some different handlebars so I'm not so upright on the road (currently it's regular mountain bike bars). 

Is it crazy to switch between mountain and road bike stuff like this?  Are there any cheap alternatives? 

2011-07-18 6:14 AM
in reply to: #3601023

User image

Expert
NoVA
Subject: RE: Turning a mountain bike into road bike?
Don't think you're going to be able to do much switching of handle bars between a straight bar (MTB) and drops (road handle bars).  Stick to swithcing between slick "road" tires and knobby MTB tires and you'll be ok----and if you have a suspension on the MTB lock it out if you can so that you don't lose energy in the shock.
2011-07-18 8:30 AM

User image

Veteran
Hudson Valley

I converted a road frame into a flatbar bike this winter, so I'm very familiar with the issues. Switching between mtn and road styles will bea pain.

The first thing is mtn wheels are smaller in diame ter than road wheels. Rear mtn hubs are wider than road hubs. This means road wheels are not compatible with a mtn frame. Road wheels will not be compatible with a 29er frame if the rear dropout is 135 mm. The solution previously mentioned is get mtn bike slick tires.

The next challenge will be the handlebars. Older mtn bike stems are 25.4 mm, Older road stems are 26 mm. They are not compatible. New road and mtn bars are both 31.8 mm, so they can use the same stem. MTn trigger shifters will not slide onto a road bar. You will need to buy bar end shifters.