General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Riding in a small group Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2011-08-02 9:58 AM

Veteran
Subject: Riding in a small group

When riding in a small group of friends (eg 3-6 people), do you think everyone should make an effort to ride together?

I know a guy who tries to arrange a small group ride every weekend, but there are only normally 4 or 5 of us that show up each week. The strange thing is that he seems to spend a lot of the time riding off the front on his own. He will always stop and wait for us, but then he'll ride with us for a minute or two and then take off again. It just seems a strange thing to do when he is the one that has tried to organise a 'group ride'. A lot of the time I could ride off the front with him, as I am almost as strong, but I don't like to abandon the other couple of people, as I assume they have showed up to ride as a group.

I am new to group cycling to I don't really know whether this is strange or not.....

2011-08-02 10:09 AM
in reply to: #3625293

User image

Extreme Veteran
Chicago, USA
Subject: RE: Riding in a small group
lengthcroft - 2011-08-02 9:58 AM

When riding in a small group of friends (eg 3-6 people), do you think everyone should make an effort to ride together?

I would think that, yes, that's generally the point of a group ride. But if the riders have hugely different abilities, then maybe slightly different groups might be in order.

2011-08-02 10:22 AM

User image

Elite
Spring, TX

Every group is different and unless those ground rules are set before hand, then there's no reason to believe there's anything wrong with the way he's doing it.

If he's a much stronger rider than the rest of the group, it is probably very difficult to stay together.  If he's pulling the entire way, then good for him.  If he's just riding away from the group, he probably needs to invite some faster riders. 

2011-08-02 10:30 AM
in reply to: #3625347

User image

Regular
Maryland