General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Quick question about staying warm on race day? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2005-09-15 3:34 PM

User image

Extreme Veteran
pnw
Subject: Quick question about staying warm on race day?
Newbie here....

I am coming out of the water in the late season sprints almost over heated in a full wet suit.
I could swim in a tri suit and do fine but here is my worry.

On the bike section I am getting really cold. Last race I was going to add ashirt but was too warm from the swim. Knew I'd regret it less than a minute into the ride. Tri suit isn't drying out in the legs and body (De Soto or Sugoi... are there better suits?) until well after the entire race is over. Beginning to hurt my ride time and is hurting the run at this point from being too cold at the transition. Gots lots of body fat and am finishing middle of my AG....although the best leg is the swim, then bike. My run sucks. This isn't helping as I have to warm up an old ankle injury before running hard on it.

I don't want to loose anything on the transitions and am afraid of overheating on the run.
What is everyone else doing on the bike...or am the only weenie out here whining?

My thought for this weekend is ditch the wet suit and swim in a tri suit and with the time saved in transition I can add a wind vest for the bike and drop it again for the run. But again worry about body core temp in a 18 min, 1/2 mile swim. Water temp should be right @ 70+/-. Race air temp should be between 55/60..perfect conditions once I am warmed up.

Thanks for any help!

2005-09-15 3:41 PM
in reply to: #247560

User image

Veteran
Gif-sur-Yvette
Subject: RE: Quick question about staying warm on race day?
70°F and you need a wetsuit for a 1/2 mile swim? I'd drop the suit (unless you need the added buoyance) even if it helps you save one minute or so from your swim time, and get a light windbreaker for the bike as you suggested.
2005-09-15 4:51 PM

Veteran
Iowa