General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Tri training + Soccer - Good idea or not Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2011-09-26 9:49 PM

Elk River
Subject: Tri training + Soccer - Good idea or not

I have been playing indoor soccer for over 10 years. This year starting in Janurary I started training for triathlons and completed 5 this year. I plan to continue my training and building myself up to a HIM next year.

I just played my first soccer game since Spring. And many do I hurt. The constant turning, sprinting, stopping, was harder then I remember. I think I have totally conditioned my legs and body for distance not for short jolts.

So my question is, am I going to do more harm to my legs or is this a good cross training opportunity?

What is amazing is that I can run 4-5 miles no problem but barely last 3 min. on the soccer field.

Is playing soccer while training for a HIM a good thing or bad? Is there anything I should watch out for?

Thanks

2011-09-26 10:02 PM
in reply to: #3701479

User image

Veteran
Tacoma, Washington
Subject: RE: Tri training + Soccer - Good idea or not

It can really only help IMO...  I am also doing indoor soccer this winter.  As long as you avoid overtraining and realize your limits you should be fine.

Marcus

2011-09-26 10:13 PM

User image

Master
Bolivia, NC
I think that you have a much greater chance of getting injured playing soccer than triathlon training.  Two of my sons play in mens' soccer leagues and they are both always hurting someplace.  I guess as long as you have enough time to heal up before your race you should be OK.  Soccer is certainly good exercise, just be careful.  My sons are too competitive to take it easy.
2011-09-27 12:46 AM

User image

Master