General Discussion Triathlon Talk » HRM/Cycling Computer Strategy Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2005-10-28 11:16 PM

User image

Veteran
Seattle, WA
Subject: HRM/Cycling Computer Strategy
I'm "gearing up" to train more seriously for next tri season after my first race this September.

I want to purchase both a cycling computer (with cadence - I'm still a beginner cyclist) and my first HRM.

The options are a bit staggering and I've gone back and forth on whether I want to purchase somewhat ahead of my needs or start up basic and upgrade if necessary later.

I think it makes more sense to go with a more basic set-up including the Polar F11, with the soft WearLink coded transmitter:
http://www.polarusa.com/Products/fseries/f11.asp?cat=consumer

And... the Cateye Astrale 8 cycle computer
http://www.trisports.com/cateyeastrale.html

Purchasing both will set me back about $200.00.

An alternative "all in one" package, including the soft WearLink transmitter (which I really want) brings me into the Polar S725 ($329.00) plus cadence sensor kit (another $45.00) for a grand total of $374.

Or, I could go for the 625X with the footpod, $349 - but I'd want to get the speed and cadence sensors which sends the total price up to to about $440. Now the footpod data would be very cool, but I pretty much know the distances on my standard running routes and have been doing time-based training anyway so far.

I'd like to hear from anyone else who purchased both a HRM and cycling computer around the same time. Did you get separate units or a single unit? Does anyone regret going with a more basic HRM - finding that they wanted to upgrade too soon (and it would have therefore made more sense to just purchase a higher-end solution initially?)

Thanks,
Heidi

2005-10-29 9:03 AM
in reply to: #274394

User image

Elite
Subject: RE: HRM/Cycling Computer Strategy

Hello Heidi,