General Discussion Introduce Yourself!!! » New Wisconsin College Student Rss Feed  
Moderators: IndoIronYanti, k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2005-11-29 10:03 PM

Subject: New Wisconsin College Student
Hey, I am new to this whole thing, but I can't wait to be a part of it all. I am a freshman college student at a little school in the northwoods of WI. I love most sports, but I get excited and end up hurting myself alot. The most recent injury was a torn MCL from aggresive rollerblading which really which has put me out of anything athletic since september and really been rough emotionally as well. I want to get in the best shape of my life and I know I am at a good age to do it, but I really don't know anything about triathlon raceing. We did a small triathlon here at school before I was hurt (.5 mile Swim, 8 mile Mountain Bike, 2.5 mile run) which was amazing and so much fun although I hadn't even tried to train for it and got lost on the bike trail. Anyways, I would love some advice about where to start with training. I don't have much money to work with but I do have a mountain bike and access to a nice road bike. I also have a membership at the YMCA and I love to swim. I must admit I suck at running though, I always feel like fish out of water. Please give me any tips you can about what books I should read, the clothing I should have for races, and the training that would be best. I am looking at doing a sprint triathlon in July and a half Ironman in September. I am in pretty good physical shape, except my knee, (5'5 and 110 lbs) and I improve quickly once I start working at it. Oh yeah, and my name is Janna.

2005-11-29 11:56 PM
in reply to: #294600

User image

Master
Harvard, Illinois
Subject: RE: New Wisconsin College Student