General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Some tips and ramblings Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2004-04-26 5:54 PM

New user
North Carolina
Subject: Some tips and ramblings
Hi all. I’ve been lurking for while so I decided to jump in. I have just completed my second sprint tri. The last one was done in intermittent rain. I’m by no means an expert but I have a few tips to pass on that I haven’t seen in any books so here goes some rambling.

Throw in a roll of Scotch tape and a small stapler in your race kit. The tape is handy when for mending those pull off parts of you race number that seem to separate when they get wet or mangled in your race bag. The tape and stapler are handy to attach the race number on your top tube of your bike. I refuse to attach a sticker to my frame. Also, for this past race, the organizers ran out of twist ties for the bike number. So I was going around in the rain taping and stapling my neighbor’s numbers. It looked weird but it worked.

A pen and old business card are handy for writing down your swim start times for pool swims. You can stick the card in the leg of your tri suit and ditch it before you start. I for one have too many other things to remember to do let alone what time I need to be at the start line .

Include a couple of plastic grocery bags in your kit too. Use one to lay your towel on. For this past race, the transition area was a parking lot. Keeping the towel off of a wet parking lot kept it a bit dryer. You can use this one and another one to put your wet stuff in after the race. This will make your spousal unit happy and you too if you are the one doing the laundry.

I ride with cycling gloves since I make my living with my hands on a keyboard. Use a pair that have large finger holes. They are much easier to get on and off especially when you are wet.