General Discussion Introduce Yourself!!! » Brand new Rss Feed  
Moderators: IndoIronYanti, k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2004-04-27 2:13 PM

Subject: Brand new
I am brand new at officially training. I have been inspired by a co-worker who just ran the Boston Marathon. I've very competitive but after a few accidents riding horses and things of that nature, I got cold feet. I have been cycling and swimming on an irregular basis and have decided to buckle down and try a sprint in July. I have a great schedule but I'm nervous because it is an open water swim. I've been in the ocean my whole life, but I live down here in Jacksonville, FL and people die all the time from run outs. I don't swim in the ocean much anymore because of it. I'm doing this for two reasons, one so I can say that I did, two is so that I can say that I can get the t-shirt without my sister or a friend passing it on.

Any support and encouragement is more than welcome.

2004-04-27 2:15 PM
in reply to: #21597

User image

Pro
Broomfield, Colorado
Subject: RE: Brand new
Welcome!

You'll be fine on the swim as long as you practice! Good luck in your event!
2004-04-27 2:19 PM

User image

Master
Dayton, Minnesota
Bronze member
Welcome to the site! Good luck with your training. It sounds like you have a pretty good base to start from which always helps!

I don't mind looking dumb on this site, so I'll ask: What's a run out? Where a person swims out too far and runs out of energy to swim back?

Kelly
2004-04-27 2:31 PM
in reply to: #21600