General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Question about Tri Clubs... Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2006-01-03 7:24 PM

User image

Regular
Raleigh, NC
Subject: Question about Tri Clubs...
I started training on my own late last summer for an April Sprint - Seriously from ground zero and I decided I needed some club/group to help with motivation and obviously to provide experience advise, etc. Tonight was my first night and it was a group run (Ugh!)...it was a little cool out and just finishing the couch to 5k program 2 weeks ago - add a week off due to holidays and a move...over 4 miles...well - it hurt. I had to walk - and I was the last one in...Not shocking - i'm a slow runner - but i'm not sure what I should do from here. I know working out with someone more advanced is helpful, however, I felt like I was holding one person back from keeping up with the group because it was dark out - and he didn't want me to run alone. I was under the impression the group was for all levels, but it appears that I AM the beginner 'level' and i'm not sure what to do with that! Should I keep going and holding someone back on the run? Should I keep rolling on the treadmill alone until I can take it up a notch and have a better attempt at keeping up? Tomorrow morning is the swim group...I hope that my time in the pool makes that event a bit better than tonight's run!!! Any advise would be appreciated!!!

2006-01-03 7:56 PM
in reply to: #316016

User image

Pro
Los Angeles, CA
Subject: RE: Question about Tri Clubs...
I would go talk to the leader that heads the run and see what he/she says.  You couldn't be the first person that has been in this situation before.  Just don't get discouraged but I wouldn't push it at a level (either distance or speed) you are not use to, you may get injured. 
2006-01-03 8:43 PM

User image

Elite