General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Calf cramps anyone? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2006-01-04 7:30 AM

User image

Regular
Subject: Calf cramps anyone?
Hello everyone. First I just want to say what a wonderful help this site is to someone as unknowledgeable as myself. That being said, i've been exercising regularly for about 6 months, with only the last few involving running/walking/jogging of any kind. Usually i will do about 30 minutes on the elliptical(i only very recently started training for a tri) and then switch to a treadmill. Only a few minutes into my treadmill I get these bizarre cramps in my calves. It isn't painful per se, but they feel somewhat like the muscles are contracting and my legs tend to temporarily lock up. Sometimes i keep going and they work themselves out, but other times it gets worse and I can't continue. i've heard two things, 1) i am dehydrated and need more water and 2) it is a lack of potassium. Can anyone offer some advice or background on why this may be? Does anyone have this? On my 30 min run last night it started at about 20 mins in but i just kept going. I am not in the best shape if that has anything to do with it, and definitely overweight, but hey..at least I'm out there trying!

Thanks!

2006-01-04 7:44 AM
in reply to: #316201

User image

Pro
Los Angeles, CA
Subject: RE: Calf cramps anyone?
I'll take a guess and say it's not nutrition and it's because you are doing the elliptical first.  Try the treadmill first without the elliptical and see if it happens. 
2006-01-04 8:08 AM
in reply to: #316211

User image

Extreme Veteran
Tokyo, Japan

I actually used to have the same problem and my solution was neither hydration or nutrition related.  In fact, it was my shoes.  I used to run in Nike shoes that had NO support, especially for pronation (foot rolling inward).  I found that simply by changing to shoes that offered better support, Asics in my case, my calf problems went away overnight!!