General Discussion Triathlon Talk » My maximum heart rate is lower than predicted?? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2006-01-07 12:05 PM

User image

Regular
Montana
Subject: My maximum heart rate is lower than predicted??

I have been using a heart rate monitor for about 2 months.  And, from it I have found that my max heart rate is nowhere near the predicted 220-age.  I am 15 beats low for my max.  (This is also the right rate for a 60 year old man.)  I Feel OK.

(About 4 years ago I was in good biking shape and my heart rate was at the predicted level according to that monitor.)

Question 1;  Will a lower max heart rate limit my performance?

Question 2;  Do I have the heart health of a 60 year old?

2006-01-07 1:09 PM
in reply to: #318864

User image

Master
Subject: RE: My maximum heart rate is lower than predicted??
How did you test your max HR?
2006-01-07 1:54 PM

User image

Regular
Montana
I have tried to get a maximum heart rate several times with my garmin 301.  Near my house I have a 15 grade hill that is 1 mile long.  I did a 20 min run warm-up and then split the hill into 3 sprints.  The third sprint felt like a max hr.  But, I did not think it was right.  So, I tried again, a week later, with the same results.  Yesterday I did interval training on the treadmill.  My heartrate graph went as predicted until the 4th hill/sprint.  The first three were nice little bell shaped curves in my HR graph - each progressively higher.  The fourth one looks like my "bell" hit a ceiling and my rate just seems to stop at the same MHR.   Additionally, the 301 is programmed to 'learn' your LT over the course of several workouts.  Based on this, the 301 predicts my MHR at my what has been my ceiling rate.  (I have done this over the course of several weeks - pushing harder each time because I keep thinking it must be wrong.
2006-01-22 3:38 PM

User image

Extreme Veteran
, Queensland
Gold member