General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Running - speed work Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2006-01-09 5:58 PM

New user

Subject: Running - speed work
Hey everyone!
I am just starting out with the run-focused Olympic tri training plan which is basically:

M - short swim & short ride
T - short run
W - long swim
Th - med run
F - long ride
S - rest
S - long run

I'm looking to do some speed sessions and thought that it would be a good idea to do so during my shorter training sessions - i.e. Monday's swim and Tuesday's run. However, before doing so, I wanted to check whether it is a good idea to follow Mon's double session with an intense running speed session?

Any advice would be very much appreciated! This program is a step up from the training I used to do, with 2 extra sessions a week, so I want to make sure I'm not pushing myself too much in fear of injury.

Thanks so much in advance!

2006-01-09 6:23 PM
in reply to: #320163

User image

Champion
Montague Gold Mines, Nova Scotia
Subject: RE: Running - speed work
What is your run base? If it is very limited, I would recommend skipping all speed work for at least most of the first season - you will make the most significant gains as your body learns to run and become more efficient at it at slower speeds. As your form and strength improves, then you can add speedwork with less risk of injury.

Shane
2006-01-09 6:36 PM
in reply to: #320170

New user

Thanks a lot for your reply Shane!

I've been running for a couple of years but only really consistently running 3 times a week since about May last year - usually ranging between 6km -11km runs. I haven't done any speed sessions before, just trying to build a base and getting used to running longer distances. However, I have been eager to get my 5km times, and eventually my 10km times down, so was thinking about starting to incorporate speed sessions.

Still to soon do you think? Perhaps give it a couple of months??
2006-01-09 6:43 PM

User image