General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Training plan selection and general approach Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2006-01-10 8:00 PM

User image

Elite
Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea
Subject: Training plan selection and general approach

Hey y'all!  I could use a little help from the experts in selecting a training plan.  My background does not include any experience in competitive swimming, biking, or running.  I've completed a 1500 swim race and a sprint tri (750m/20K/5K) and have been actively training (albeit without much purpose) for the past 8 or 9 months.  I haven't had injury problems (knock on wood) and don't have weight to lose. 

My goal is to finish the OLY distance at the Lifetime Fitness Triathlon on 7/15/06.  It would seem logical to select something like the Olympic 2x Balanced 20 week since I'm a novice in all three disciplines and since I have lots of time between now and the race.  It'll also give me a chance to get some swim coaching in before the plan actually starts.  Does this selection make sense to you?

OK, so say I select that plan.  How would you go about the training?  It seems that I should be concentrating on Base building.  Sould I be doing that the duration of the training plan or should I, as books like Joe Friel's "Bible" suggests, make the 20 weeks fit the pattern of periodization where I go through all the phases.  I'm not looking to do anything other than finish and feel good about doing so.  That's not to say that I'm going to slack at it but I have no time expectations.

Second, is sitting on a spin bike a suitable substitute?  Here in the North it'll probably be April before I can get out consistently for rides.  I also don't have the $$ for a trainer now.  Maybe next winter.

I guess that's about all for now.  Thanks in advance for your help!

Tom 

2006-01-11 7:32 AM
in reply to: #320990

User image

Champion
Gold member
Subject: RE: Training plan selection and general approach