General Discussion Triathlon Talk » training zone question Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply

of 2

2006-01-19 1:51 PM

User image

Crystal Lake, IL
Subject: training zone question

As a beginner here I'm still fascinated by reading and learning all about heart rates, training zones, lactate thresholds, etc.  I get the concept of training at different intensities for different purposes, and the benefits of training at lower intensities.  Here's my problem.  I can't put it into action.  I tend to be fairly obsessive/intense about my workouts and even though I haven't calculated my zones or been tested, I'm guessing that I normally work out in a higher zone than I "should".  But I love it.  That feeling of going out there and really pushing myself, accomplishing things I never thought I could.  The exhilaration that comes with pushing oneself to and sometimes beyond what you thought your limits were is intoxicating.  Every time I start out a workout by saying, "ok, nice and slow, we are shooting for LSD here" I end up halfway through figuring out how fast I have to go to have a shot at my PB.  I can't help myself, it's so damn fun!  If I don't mind not following the ideal workout plan, am I risking anything other than the overtraining bug by training at higher intensities most of the time?  I know what I should do, but I'm in this because it's fun and doing it this way is fun for me.  Is that wrong?

(I guess now I'll wait for the landslide of posts from people saying after reviewing my logs they thought all my workouts were LSD to begin with.)

2006-01-19 1:58 PM
in reply to: #327616

User image

Boulder, Colorado
Subject: RE: training zone question
I LOVE your passion. I LOVE the fact that you want to go out and PR everytime you run. That is AWESOME, and I wish I could bottle that - I would be very rich!