General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Walmart Road Bike Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2006-01-21 4:33 PM

Subject: Walmart Road Bike
Hello Everyone!

This is my first post, even though I've been lurking for over a month and reading everything I can. I am training for my first Tri ever this year. It's April 29th and I just started training around 3 weeks ago.

I need advice on the right bike to use. I've been using my father's mountain bike for the past few weeks. It is pretty much a standard Schwinn mountain bike. It's probably 6-7 years old and pretty ragged/dirty looking. I had my LBS put slick tires on it and do a full tune up. They charged me around $130 to do all that.

My total triathlon budget was about $550, but I've already spent $130 on the bike, plus helmet, water bottle, cage, bike computer, tri shorts, swim jammers, goggles, race belt and various other stuff. This leaves me with about $280. I will need about $60-70 for the race registration.

I was convinced I didn't need to worry about a road bike for my first season, but then today I saw this Walmart road bike for $147:

http://www.walmart.com/catalog/product.do?dest=9999999997&product_i...

Should I ditch the MTB and go with this one? My reasons to do so would be: 1) Get used to the riding position of a road bike 2) Have a newer/shinier bike 3) Be able to give my dad his bike back (he doesn't use it, but he's picky about loaning stuff) 4) Look more like I know what I'm doing (riding a road bike, although I'm sure everyone would know it's El Cheapo) 5) Ride faster/lighter

Other things you should know: 1) I'm 6'2" 290lbs - hopefully will be able to drop 20-30 lbs by the race (I'm dieting and training) 2) I would probably still buy a better bike next year if I'm still into it.

Anything else you need to know? I really appreciate all the great advice I read on these boards!

Thanks,

Chris

2006-01-21 4:48 PM
in reply to: #329103

User image

Champion
Albuquerque, New Mexico