General Discussion Introduce Yourself!!! » Hello from New England Rss Feed  
Moderators: IndoIronYanti, k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2006-03-02 1:51 PM

New England
Subject: Hello from New England
Hey there!

I am new here, and I just started training last night - and I mean just started! I haven't done much of anything for three years, and have packed on the pounds in that time. (Do they have a clydesdale division for ladies?)

Anyway, I joined a training group, and we had our first session in the pool. The coach tells us to do four fifties. I had to ask what that was, and was ready to die after one there and back across the pool. Not to mention, forgot to breathe often enough. I am very pleased that I kept going and didn't drown.

As I was swimming, I wondered how the $%^& I was ever going to swim AND THEN bike AND THEN run. Yikes! I cheered myself up by telling myself that at the very least I'll be warmed up for the bike, which is the part I am most looking foward to. (I do not even want to talk about running - sheesh!)

Despite being a little horrified at what I have gotten myself into, I am really excited to be making positive changes and living a healthier lifestyle.

Bring it on!!!!!

2006-03-02 2:38 PM
in reply to: #359159

User image

Elite
Subject: RE: Hello from New England

Welcome to BT Kelli!

There is a womens clydsale division called Athena. 

Don't fret too much about the pool.  Many people get into triathlon having no swim experience, myself included.  Take your time and learn to relax before worrying about speed.  Use your first couple of races as opportunities to learn from other athletes around you. 

Good luck!

2006-03-02 2:47 PM

User image

Master
Bronze member
hello to you & Welcome! Gotta start somewhere- and yes be proud you kept swimmimg! Do you have a "first tri" goal? Good to have a tri training group..can help you through the "firsts"... You'll find lots of advice & support here as well.Enjoy the journey!
2006-03-02 9:08 PM