General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Yet another HRM question. Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2006-04-26 10:32 AM

Parrish, FL
Subject: Yet another HRM question.
Hello, all,

I don’t post much because:

A) I’m just starting out, in fact I don’t begin my full routine until this coming Monday, May 1, 2006, hehehe.
B) Darn near everything I’ve thought to ask has already been asked and either answered or no one has an answer.

However, I still need a little advice on the purchase of an HRM... and believe me when I say I’ve read through every single thread/post in this link:

http://www.beginnertriathlete.com/discussion/search/query.asp?actio...

And I’m not sure if I’m more confused than I was at the start or not, LOL

What I’ve decided I’d really like is something with a GPS so that I can run/bike where ever I’d like and know what my distance etc is, without having to “map it out” with my car.

I THINK that leaves me with the Timex Bodylink and the Garmin 301/305... unless I’ve missed this feature in other models.

Now it’s my understanding that the Garmin can’t be used when swimming... and I’d really like to keep track of my HR while swimming... I know it’s somewhat cumbersome to do so, but that it can be done.

However, it’s also my understanding that the Timex has lousy/cumbersome data collecting and uploading to PC features... not to mention needing to purchase a separate device to do so.

Are my above conclusions accurate? Is the Timex really the only option for me if I’d really like GPS capability AND be able to use it while swimming? And I’d just have to “suck it up” and deal with the issues regarding uploading to PC?

I also may be suffering from information overload since I’m beginning to forget which HRM’s have which features, hehehe.

I’d like GPS. Ala Timex and Garmin

I’d like to be able to swim with it. Ala Timex and Polar

I’d like to see both HR output as a number and a percentage of max HR. Ala Polar A5