General Discussion Triathlon Talk » I need some honest feed back Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2011-11-29 9:35 PM

North Richland Hills, Texas
Subject: I need some honest feed back

I just started training again after being a total bum for the last 20+ years.  I used to be athletic and have done a couple of Tri's (1983 and 1985).  Did an Olympic Tri in 1985 in 2:35 including getting lost in the water (forgot to look for the bouys) and added a few hundred meters to the swim.  Only trained 4 moths for that one and was barely working out.  Also did 4 biathlons in 1990.  I used to average about 20 mph on the bike and 7:15-7:30 per mile on the 10k of the Olympic and in my Biathlons.  I was 27 in 1985 and 32 in 1990.

Now I'm 53 and questioning myself.

I said I was a bum until recently.  I was smoking 2+ packs per day and drinking (alot) and gained a little too much weight.  Well I quit smoking and drinking August 1st of this year.  I've lost about 5 lbs, gained some muscle and lost 2-3" off the waist.  I'm 53 years old.

Right now I can swim a 1500 in 30 min, run 3 miles in 30 min (10 min miles) and bike 25 in 1:30 (16.6 mph).  All seperate/not together.  I ride a 1992 Bianchi lightweight steel bike (road bike).  State-of-the-art at the time (23 lbs).  The bike is practically brand new because I bought it in 1992 and quit everything soon after based on injury, work and other factors.  Excuses I used.

Based on my age and just getting going again, how am I doing?  Is a new bike going to help me that much?  Am I expecting too much out of myself to want to finish an Olympic in September in 2:35?  Basically, I'm disappointed in myself because its hard(er) to get back in shape, wish I hadn't lost it and miss doing 6 minute miles.

2011-11-29 9:43 PM
in reply to: #3919841

User image

Master
Houston
Subject: RE: I need some honest feed back

For 20 years on the couch, or in your case on the barstool, it sounds like you are doing pretty well.