General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Questions about the Naperville Sprint in August Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2011-12-29 2:27 PM

User image

Regular
Chicagoland
Subject: Questions about the Naperville Sprint in August

Hoping that some of you that have done this race can respond and fill me in.  I'm new to triathlon and am trying to gather more info, as well as any tips folks can share, about this race.

How far is the run from the swim to the bike racks?  And, is the run time included in the swim time or the T1 time?

Does the middle part of the M-shaped swim come all the way back to the beach?  Or, is it a buoy?

Thanks in advance for your help!

2011-12-30 9:46 AM
in reply to: #3960519

User image

Elite
Romeoville, Il
Subject: RE: Questions about the Naperville Sprint in August
kvn371 - 2011-12-29 2:27 PM

Hoping that some of you that have done this race can respond and fill me in.  I'm new to triathlon and am trying to gather more info, as well as any tips folks can share, about this race.

How far is the run from the swim to the bike racks?  And, is the run time included in the swim time or the T1 time?

Does the middle part of the M-shaped swim come all the way back to the beach?  Or, is it a buoy?

Thanks in advance for your help!

Welcome to tri's!

Naperville is a great place to start. It's very beginner friendly. It's a big race so there are lots of people and transition is quite large. It's quite a long transition run from swim to the transition area for T1. I would guess it's 150-250 yards depending on where you are racked. Run time is included in your T1 time. Not your swim time like it is in the Chicago tri. The M shape comes close to the beach. There is a buoy, but it's in the shallow area and you can walk around it.
2011-12-31 2:08 PM

User image

Extreme Veteran
Naperville, IL