General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Pinched Nerve ? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2006-05-09 1:57 PM

Regular
Subject: Pinched Nerve ?
Hi,

I just found out that I probably have a pinched nerve in my neck and that's what has been causing my arm numbness. I will have an MRI Thursday and know for sure the beginning of next week.

Does anyone else have this and what have you done? My tri season is over this year and I'm just looking for some hope. The doc said if I do have a pinched nerve doing the crawl is probably out.

My goals had been IMCDA this year so any words of encouragement or advice would be most appreciated.

Happy training to all!

Kendra

2006-05-09 2:15 PM
in reply to: #419002

User image

Pro
St Charles, IL
Subject: RE: Pinched Nerve ?

A second opinion.

I'm not a doctor, and I don't know anything about your symptoms, so it's hard to tell.

I would recommend finding a sports medicine doctor that practices Active Release Therapy (ART).  I go to one semi-regularly, and have also gone to General Practioner.  I had an issue with my back/neck to where I couldn't move.  GP gave me muscle relaxants and told me to do nothing.  ART doctor gave me a different diagnosis and treatment regimine.  I raced an olympic distance tri 10 days later.  ( Your mileage may vary, don't try this at home, etc. )

So, before you write the season off, get a second opinion, and work with an ART doctor if you can.

http://www.activerelease.com/providerSearch.asp 

-Chris 

2006-05-09 2:37 PM

User image

Elite
Hattiesburg, Mississippi
I agree with coredump, look for a sports med doctor.  Not sure where the pinched nerve is and i'm one of the biggest haters on here, but if you can find a good chiropractor, that may help.  ART is great and could help you get back you season as well.
2006-05-09 3:09 PM

User image

Master
Madison, WI
Second opinions are good. I'd also try some acupuncture. You'd be amazed what it can do.
2006-05-09 3:26 PM

User image

Master