General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Ridiculously long recovery time after racing - Please Help!!! Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2012-02-03 3:57 PM

Subject: Ridiculously long recovery time after racing - Please Help!!!

Hi Everybody,

I haven't posted much since I have joined this awesome site, but I do follow the posts daily and I was hoping someone could give me some advice.

I started training for triathlon last year, after a year of getting back into shape after having a baby. Last year I completed 2 half marathons and 1 sprint distance triathlon and two weeks ago tomorrow I completed my first Olympic Distance Tri (AWESOME!!!!)

My problem is, its two weeks since then and I still have no energy, my legs feel like lead and I cant get enough sleep.  It happens to me after every thing I have done so far. After the mara's and both Tri's. The strange thing is that it does not happen after my brick session or long rides which can go for at least 2.5  hours.

It is really demotivating me. The friends I train with have really ramped up their training and I just can't do it. I went for a run this morning and each of my joints felt like rust and my legs just felt so heavy and horrid. I am fitter than I have ever been i my life and I don't understand why it takes me so long to recover. I am so tired and have absolutely no energy. I eat really well, although would like to lose a but more body fat, but over all, I eat really well. I regularly stretch, have massages and try to look after my body as much as possible. I believe I am doing enough training  for the events I am participating in.

Is this just me? Any advice would be greatly appreciated. I feel like I take 2 steps forward then one step back as it takes me so long too feel good again after a race.

best wishes all,

Cass xx

2012-02-03 6:02 PM
in reply to: #4028361

User image

Master
Eugene, Oregon
Bronze member
Subject: RE: Ridiculously long recovery time after racing - Please Help!!!