General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Does running just plain hurt? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2006-05-12 5:23 PM

User image

Veteran
OHIO south of Dayton
Subject: Does running just plain hurt?
I have been running for about 20 years in one fashion or another (soccer, track, etc.). I can't remember ever having pain in my knees until I started training for triathlons. Maybe this is due to my concentration on short distance running/sprinting (less than 2 miles) prior to "tri-ing". Maybe it's just plain age ( I turn 31 on 5/28). My weight is descent at 158lbs and I average sub 8min / miles most of the time.

I read an interesting statistic recently that stated 80% of athletes train and perform with significant pain in their joints (knees, ankles, elbows etc). Do we all fall into this stat?

So my question to fellow BT'ers........do you feel pain in your knees/ankles during or after running? Is this just a part of "running" that I need to accept?

2006-05-12 5:32 PM
in reply to: #422510

User image

Pro
Evanston,
Subject: RE: Does running just plain hurt?
No to both questions. I only had the beginnings of pain, in one hip, before I saw a trainer who helped me with stretching and stability. I don't think you should "accept" it, but need to investigate the cause and remedy it.

There was something on here recently about how even improper BIKE fit can cause knee pain while running. Go figure! But it's worth figuring out.

2006-05-12 5:41 PM

User image

Champion
Dallas, TX
Do you feel the knee pain on the bike too?

I just wonder... because you said the knee pain didn't pop up until you started training for tri's... and a bike that is not fitted properly can cause knee pain.

2006-05-12 6:05 PM

User image

Veteran
OHIO south of Dayton