General Discussion Introduce Yourself!!! » stuck.. Rss Feed  
Moderators: IndoIronYanti, k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2004-06-09 10:50 AM

Regular
salem ma
Subject: stuck..
Hi all, I'm just starting out, hoping to be ready for my first tri in September. Been running all spring (also a first) and have started swimming/biking too. I transitioned to running outside a few weeks ago, and I can't get back to where I was on the treadmill (never mind blow past it), distance-wise or time-wise. Trying to work thru it, but after 3 weeks, it's getting a little disheartening.
Any suggestions???

THANK YOU!

2004-06-09 11:58 AM
in reply to: #30259

User image

Dallas, TX
Subject: RE: stuck..
Hi,

In my opinion, running on a treadmill is great excersize, but it's a completely different thing than pounding the pavement.

On the treadmill, you can get by just making your body (legs) move fast enough to keep in one place. Outside you have to use your hamstrings / quads to move your bodyweight forward.

I'm a terrible runner and someone else will probably have better suggestions, but I think I would try reducing your pace (but maintain your cadence) until you can be comfortable doing the amount of time you're looking to put in.

Keith
2004-06-09 12:57 PM

User image

Pro
Broomfield, Colorado
Welcome!  Well running outside adds a few things.  You have to push off the ground more, you have uneven surfaces, and things like weather (wind, heat, etc.).  Keep practicing, and you'll be fine!  It just gets better with time!
2004-06-09 9:58 PM

User image

Expert
Durham, CA