General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Question about women trisuits/outfits Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2006-05-21 11:55 AM

User image

Extreme Veteran
Northwest Louisiana
Subject: Question about women trisuits/outfits
Hi newbie here.

I am wondering about trisuits, tri tops etc......do the women's outfits come with supports in them. As in, do we have to wear a sports bra underneath?

Also I'm doing a tri in August and it's going to be hot, hot, hot....what do you recommend to wear for a first timer? I thought about getting a trisuit but (I know this is way silly), I don't want to a buy a trisuit or even get a free Javelin trisuit because I'm afraid I might look a bit more professional than I am and will be embarrassed as I come running in close to last.

Yes, I need to work on my self-esteem. Do we have a board on that?

Thanks!

2006-05-21 9:49 PM
in reply to: #429314

User image

Tulsa, Oklahoma
Subject: RE: Question about women trisuits/outfits
Hi Sharon ~ first of all coming in last is so much better than not doing one at all ~ so that's one for the self esteem.

You certainly do not need to be a professional to wear a trisuit or any tri clothes......the majority of people doing triathlons are not professionals. The advantage to wearing tri specific clothing is just that it is made specifically for triathlons. The padding is minimal but effective...it drys quickly, seems are made in places to prevent chaffing. If your not comfortable in a trisuit then you might try some trishort and a top at first.....I promise you will be happy with the decision. If you want feel free to email me or pm me and I can help you choose something that will work well for your first tri make you comfortable, and even look like a triathlete.....after all you will be one...

Renee
2006-05-21 9:52 PM

User image

Extreme Veteran
Peachtree City, GA