General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Any diabetics here? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2006-05-21 11:58 AM

User image

Extreme Veteran
Northwest Louisiana
Subject: Any diabetics here?
Hello, I'm new to the sport of triathlons and I am a Type 2 diabetic....been diagnosed since June 2002.

I have been trying to lose weight to help control my diabetes and am currently still on oral meds. The reason that I'm doing a triathlon this year is because I needed a goal and something to work towards to help me in my weight-loss and my pursuit to get off my diabetes medications (if possible) and to control my diabetes through exercise and diet.

Anyway, I was just wondering if there were any other diabetics out there and how you've dealt with training and nutrition and carbo loading etc.

Thank you!

2006-05-22 6:11 AM
in reply to: #429315

Subject: RE: Any diabetics here?
Ihave severe hypoglycemia, so I have to deal with nutrition, since it is the only way to control it. I have met a sport nutritionist, which helped me a lot. If you hace any question, ask, and I'll see if I can help you.
2006-05-22 9:07 AM

User image

Pro
Pittsburgh, my heart is in Glasgow
Well, I'm type 1 diabetic...I just sort of dealt with it as it came along. Unfortunately, there's not really a wealth of information on how to balance your meds and training (I'm on an insulin pump). Its been a fair deal of trial/error. Don't know how your oral meds affect your blood sugar, but my biggest worry when training is going low...so I always plan way more food than I think I'll need (more gels, carry glucose tabs, keep one water bottle w/ gatorade/sugary sports drink).

The tri training has been great, I lost 65 lbs since I started. Dropped my Hb1Ac from 12.8 to a solid 7, and reversed some kidney damage. It's awesome, tons of fun, and hopefully you'll keep with it even after you hit your targets .

Any ?'s feel free to PM me or send me a wee e-mail, I love talkin' about the 'betes.