General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Newbie question: Timex GPS watches Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2012-04-11 3:32 PM

User image

Veteran
Shawnee
Subject: Newbie question: Timex GPS watches

Hi everyone, I'm brand new to the sport.  I was looking into watch gear and have been attracted to the Timex GPS watches: the Global trainer and the Run Trainer.  I've read all of DC Rainmaker reviews and a ton of blogs.  It seems like the Run Trainer is the newer version and has a few kinks worked out, but the Global trainer can be purchased for about $120 right now (HR monitor included) vs. $170 for the Run Trainer.  The Run Trainer seems to have slightly less functionality.  

As I said, I'm brand new to the sport and my goal is to do 3 more races in 2012.  I've looked at the Garmin xt  watches, but feel they may be a little out of my price range at this point.

Right now, I'm leaning toward the Global trainer.  It's had some issues but it sounds like Timex has resolved most of those with firmware updates.  While the Run Trainer is a little newer and not as bulky, I'm not sure it has any more functionality.  Can anyone advise?

2012-04-11 3:36 PM
in reply to: #4144134

User image

Regular
Norman
Subject: RE: Newbie question: Timex GPS watches
I received a run trainer for my birthday in January. So far I love it, I take it out on all my runs and bike rides. What concerns do you have about it?
2012-04-11 3:43 PM
in reply to: #4144143

User image

Veteran
Shawnee
No concerns...just curious if it was worth the extra $50 for it over the Global trainer.  Thoughts?
2012-04-11 4:11 PM

User image

Regular
Norman

To me the main difference is the screen.  Here is a video if you haven't watched this http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MWIQNegGyq4 

I've never worn the global trainer and the price was higher when I purchased my run trainer. By the comparison in the video the global trainer looks nice, I prefer the setup of the screen on the run trainer though.