General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Heel strike or mid-sole/forefoot strike? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2012-04-22 1:07 AM

Subject: Heel strike or mid-sole/forefoot strike?
Hi all,I'm new to this and am very excited to have transitioned into your world from my last one. I was wondering, how do you strike when you run?I weigh 107kg (236lbs) and have found that the shock wave of a heel strike at my weight is more injury-prone than the musclular force of mid-sole running, and it is less efficient in its braking mechanics. So I have adapted to midsole running and it suits my body well, strengthening my lower leg and foot muscles in the process.I've also suffered with Achilles tendonitis before, so to involve an eccentric contraction and a concentric, rather than just a roll and concentric, protects me from those issues. I guess it sets me well towards barefoot running if I ever get lighter and fancy that.Please note, strangely I also find it more efficient to run like a sprinter with my hips tilted forwards and up, and my knees high, concentrating on lifting my feet off the floor instead of striking.But I don't know if any of this is right according to you with experience as I'm only new to it.So how do you run? It'll be interesting to me to see how you all do it.CheersJames

2012-04-22 5:47 AM
in reply to: #4165012

Subject: ...
This user's post has been ignored.
2012-04-22 6:08 AM

Extreme Veteran
Subject: RE: Heel strike or mid-sole/forefoot strike?

I, too, run with a mid-sole strike, keeping my feet under my body.