General Discussion Introduce Yourself!!! » My first triathlon is less than a month away! Rss Feed  
Moderators: IndoIronYanti, k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2012-05-30 1:05 PM

Subject: My first triathlon is less than a month away!

I stumbled upon this site while trying to do more triathlon research and it has a lot of good advice.

Last week, I signed up for my first triathlon. It's a .62 mile swim, 17.5 mile bike, and 3.4 mile run. I have been wanting to do a triathlon since I ran my first marathon a few years back, but my limited swimming ability has scared me away. I finally decided to sign up for one, the only way that I would ever work to learn how.

I always tell people "I swim well enough not to drown" and I am still learning how. I did a total of 22 laps in the pool yesterday morning (roughly half my distance I'll need), then followed right after with a 17 mile bike and a 3 mile run. I know it's all indoors and not the same, but it was pretty encouraging that I could do that with only a week of training.

Any advice for helping improve my swim? The biggest thing I need to learn is the breathing. I lift my head up too much instead of turning it to the side. I don't really get "tired" so much as out of breath. I'm worried that during the race, I'll need a breather and have no where to go.

My goal is to NOT finish near the bottom, but also to complete it and have fun. I'm hoping I enjoy it as much as I enjoy the idea of it, as it is definitely something I would like to get more into.

2012-05-30 6:27 PM
in reply to: #4235624

Subject: RE: My first triathlon is less than a month away!