General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Building a New Lifting Routine Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2012-06-01 8:53 AM

Subject: Building a New Lifting Routine

I'm looking to develop a new workout plan, I feel like I havn't been making a whole lot of progress lately.

Background Info:
I'm 18 years old
I've been lifting for 2+ years now
I'm not really big or strong, but I've made a whole lot of progress from where I started (Couldn't bench 90lbs)
I have some issues with my knees (patellofemoral syndrome) and calves. When these issues flare up I have to be gentle on my legs.

Weight: 150
Height: 5' 10'' ish
Max Bench 185
Max Pull ups 23

Goal:
I'm looking to develop a new workout plan. I've always liked to do my cardio based on how I feel and how my schedule is, so I only want to make lifting strictly built into the schedule. Leg workouts interrupt with my triathlon training more than upper body workouts, but I definitely want to do leg workouts during tri season. I used to work out six days a week with a high number of exercises--I enjoyed lifting that way, but doubt its effectiveness.

I'm willing to workout for whatever duration, frequency, and split that would get me the best results.

Any suggestions for the program?

Thanks,

Chris

Edited by ChrisSmith1494 2012-06-01 8:55 AM

2012-06-01 9:48 AM
in reply to: #4238889

User image

Pro
CyFair
Subject: RE: Building a New Lifting Routine
Why not check out a tried and true program?  5x5, 5/3/1, German Volume Training, DoggCrap, West Side for Skinny Ba$tards, etc.  They all work and have pretty set schedules so you can work any cardio/tri training in around.
2012-06-01 11:50 AM

Extreme Veteran
NE Ohio
ChrisSmith1494 - 2012-06-01 9:53 AM

I'm looking to develop a new workout plan, I feel like I havn't been making a whole lot of progress lately.

Background Info:
I'm 18 years old
I've been lifting for 2+ years now