General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Prep. - 90% Spinning and Swimming... Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2012-06-04 9:39 AM

User image

Subject: Prep. - 90% Spinning and Swimming...

Sunday I completed my 3 Sprint after a 3 year hiatus.  I had back surgery in Feb 2011 for a bulging disc so I've been leery of running or jogging.  I've been swimming for 7 months and started a spinning class 5 month ago.  I ran a total of two miles on the ground in prep for Sunday's Tri - I probably logged a couple of hours of running in the water at my local gym in the last few weeks.

For the Sprint I came in at about 1:20 on Sunday's.  There were no timing chips at this $25 entry event.  I entered it as just a trial in prep for a real event coming in the end of July with a couple of friends.

Lessons

I need more time on the actual ground both running and biking.  My lung capacity is pretty good from spin class and swimming a half mile at least 3 times a week and a mile at least once a week.  As fun as spin class is I may have to give it up to put my bike on the ground and actually push my own 250 frame down the road.

Sunday I ran most of the 3.1 miles.  Which was much better than my 2009 outing.  I probably walked 1/3 in 2009.  I will continuing running in the water but I'll also do equal or more running on the ground.  

My back feels pretty good after yesterdays event at least no worse than every other day. 

I lost 14 lbs in May with the aid of Myfitnesspal.com

I also bought a heart monitor and I am reading about zones.

I also bought new Adidas running shoes which felt like a dream yesterday.  I might find another pair because they seem to change shoes styles so often and I've not regretted buying two pair of shoes I really liked in the past.

FWIW....

2012-06-04 12:11 PM
in reply to: #4242978

User image

Pennsylvania
Subject: RE: Prep. - 90% Spinning and Swimming...
Sounds like you are on the right track!  Congrats, and keep up the good work!