General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Re-Starting Training after Walking Pneumonia Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2012-06-13 11:02 AM

User image

New user

Concord, NC
Subject: Re-Starting Training after Walking Pneumonia

This is my first year doing triathlons (competed in the bike/run legs of a Corporate Challenge Sprint Tri last Sept and the bug bite).  I was in the middle of 9workout a week (3/3/3) program training for my first tri this year scheduled for 7/14, when started not feeling well after my swim and bike workouts on May 27th.  I stopped training after the 27th and went to the doctor.  What they originally told me was a 5-day virus, turned on to be walking pneumonia (got diagnosis and started antibiotics on 5/31). For the last two weeks skipped all of my routines, with the exception of using my bike trainer as a easy gear for 25mins last night.  I feel a heck of alot better this past week, but still have bad cough which is especially prominent first thing in the morning. 

I don't want to rush things or do anything to cause the walking pneumonia in my left lung to hang on any longer than is typical.  At the same point, I don't want to forgo training if its not going to adversely effect my recovery.  Today would be a run workout and I am considering giving it a go this evening after work to see what I can do.  I am really looking for some wisdom as to what I should and should not do.  The swim portion of the tri is by far my weakest piece.  I have same more in the last 2-3 months than in the last 20-25yrs combined (so I am basically just starting get comfortable in the pool and learn proper stroke....endurance is still  very low).  The tri that I was going to do July 14th is a super sprint   (300m pool, 14 bike, 5k), and I don't know if I should just forget about it, or sign-up and just go for completion as opposed to going all out.