General Discussion Triathlon Talk » School me on road racing please (someone who has plenty of time, the more detailed the better) Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply

of 1

2012-06-26 6:01 PM

User image

Veteran
Subject: School me on road racing please (someone who has plenty of time, the more detailed the better)

I have been doing triathlons for a few years now and love biking.  I think biking could be my strong point as I usually do minimal biking throughout the year (due to winter in PA) and yet tend to do well in it.  I have loved biking since I was a kid. 

I tried my first road race back in may and loved it.  It was a 45 mile course and I think there were about 300+ participants.  I have been thinking about getting into more bike racing as I think I could train better in one sport instead of three. 

But wow, is it ever confusing!  I think I am starting to understand the CATs, how do you move up?  What is with all of the different race types?  (criterium, TT, road race, stage race????)  Will I have to get a whole new road bike if I get serious into bike racing or could I just convert my tri bike by changing the handlebars around?  Thanks a ton!

2012-06-26 7:15 PM
in reply to: #4281849

User image

Master
Sedona, AZ
Subject: RE: School me on road racing please (someone who has plenty of time, the more detailed the better)
Kermat89 - 2012-06-26 4:01 PM

I have been doing triathlons for a few years now and love biking.  I think biking could be my strong point as I usually do minimal biking throughout the year (due to winter in PA) and yet tend to do well in it.  I have loved biking since I was a kid. 

I tried my first road race back in may and loved it.  It was a 45 mile course and I think there were about 300+ participants.  I have been thinking about getting into more bike racing as I think I could train better in one sport instead of three.