General Discussion Triathlon Talk » iron distance for first tri Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2012-07-15 1:05 AM

Subject: iron distance for first tri

Ive recently took up a challenge from my best mate to complete an im race next summer.Ive picked a charity (http://www.isabellarosefoundation.co.uk/) in which I want to raise money for and started working on my swimming and cycling,running unfortunatley will have to wait a few more weeks as due to a rugby injury I have recently undergone 2 knee operations to remove some cartilage and replace my ACL. This is my main problem as due to my inability to run I am going to miss the majority of this seasons races and am looking for advice from you good people, do you reccommend I try and squeeze in a few races before my im race or just set myself the target of just completing the im.

As I'm completely new to the world of triathlon is im just to far for a 1st race or am I risking burnout by trying to do any races before hand?

I'd just like to add time is completely irrelevant to me my mate who set the challenge completed his 1st im in 13:01:28 in nice this year and yes it would be nice to beat that but I'd rather just concentrate on finishing

any advice would be great thank you

2012-07-15 10:31 PM
in reply to: #4311957

User image

Extreme Veteran
Subject: RE: iron distance for first tri

It has been done before.

I think your plan to complete some shorter distance tri's is a very good idea though.

If running is an issue for you this season but you want to get some race experience, you could possibly do an aquabike, or even just stop your race when you're done with the bike course.

2012-07-16 10:18 AM

User image

Expert
Mikebarky1039 - 2012-07-14 11:05 PM