General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Best Road Bike - Need to buy Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2006-06-16 9:13 AM

Subject: Best Road Bike - Need to buy
I am in the market to purchase a road bike. I am new to triathlons, doing second sprint one this august. The first one I used my mountain bike(boy that was a pain!!!) I am looking for advice on what the best around are for someone just purchasing their first road bike??? Any and all suggestions are great. I have looked at many brands and am so confused. Also, wondering if bike shops get a cut on selling certain brands vs others. They promote one vs other.

I am a female so not sure if I should look at women specific bikes or all. I am looking to use it for normal daily rides and tris(right now only one this year but hope to add more annually!!!)

Any help is appreciated.

Melissa

2006-06-16 9:42 AM
in reply to: #456416

User image

Elite
Subject: RE: Best Road Bike - Need to buy

Your question is the source of endless debate.  The basic answer is that the bike you select has to 1) be a good fit, 2) be within your budget (some debate this),  and 3) suit your mix of riding conditions.   I like straight road bikes for all around riding and don't even own a tri bike.  I find a medium sized frame with somewhat shorter than average top tube is the most comfortable fit (I always need to swap out the stock stem for a short one to get comfortable.)  I ride a lot of hills and I'm pretty old and slow so I want a triple front derailleur.   I also have an excessive amount of money to spend on bikes so I bought a Litespeed (actually two). I am extremely happy.  I am sitting in my lab right now with the bike within sight.  So cool.  My bike purchase make me very happy.  Hope you can figure out what works for you.  It may be that it is the prefect color.  Whatever the choice, the bike should be fun and functional.

Enjoy.

TW

Edited by tech_geezer 2006-06-16 9:43 AM
2006-06-16 9:43 AM

User image