General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Post Training / Workout Food Choices and Fuel Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2012-09-17 1:16 PM

Subject: Post Training / Workout Food Choices and Fuel

I am looking for some guidance on what to eat after working out.  I find that if I workout doing swim, bike or run for longer than 45 minutes I am STARVING all day.  Regardless of what I eat I am still so hungry its insane.

Part of the reason I started training was so I can lose the last 10 pounds (Lost / kept off 70 Pounds for the last 7 years - Yay me!).  The last 10 are extremely challenging.  I just finished training for two olympic distance races and trained for 5 months and gained 2 pounds.  It is def. not muscle since I am still holding the last 10 chubby pounds. 

Advice please.  It's driving me crazy that I am so hungry all the time. 

2012-09-17 2:20 PM
in reply to: #4414903

User image

Wichita
Subject: RE: Post Training / Workout Food Choices and Fuel

There are a lot of varying opinions on this, at least I think there are.  All I do is eat healthy food, i.e. lean meats, vegetables, fruit, whole grain, etc...  Some people are really getting into the Paelo diet and it says no grains.  I don't necessarily agree with it but everyone has their opinion.  

I will say that I trained for a HM and lost 3 lbs because I didn't eat right and I was always hungry.  I changed my diet and did another HM and lost 30 lbs.  Cutting out refined sugars and the like will do that.  I did an 18 mile run Saturday and never felt like I was starving all day.

2012-09-17 2:25 PM

If I'm close to home I'll do a fruit smoothie with 1st Endurance Ultragen mixed in, if I'll bring the Ultragen powder with me and just mix that in a water bottle. 45 minutes later I'll have a sandwhich of some sorts.
2012-09-17 6:50 PM

User image

Master
Eugene, Oregon
Bronze member