General Discussion Triathlon Talk » how to prepare for HIM? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2012-10-22 10:53 AM

User image

Extreme Veteran
Virginny
Subject: how to prepare for HIM?
Hi everyone,
My goal is to do a HIM by the time I'm 40. I'm aiming for next september. I've had 2 babies in the last 4 years, and I'm working hard at getting my fitness back. I've never been fast, but I've been doing tri's for 9 years. My weak spot is running. I've done one half ironman (pre-kids) and it was pretty bad. I'm planning to do another in March. What's a good winter strategy? Should I run 4 times a week and then only bike and swim once each? Is running 3 times a week enough? Should I alternate swimming and biking weeks? What I really need is a plan to get me through the holidays... It's hard to fit in workouts now that I have no impending race (and small children and full time job). Any advice or encouragement welcome!
Thanks!
Rebecca

2012-10-22 11:16 AM
in reply to: #4463400

User image

Pro
Bellingham, WA
Subject: RE: how to prepare for HIM?

Are you planing to do an HIM is September and March?  Or did you mean HM in March?

Either way, if you have two small children your biggest challenge may be scheduling the time needed to prepare.  Running 4 days a week would be good but you need to swim and ride more than once a week.  If time is an issue maybe just run three days a week because you really should be swimming and riding at least three times a week.  I can get by on two swims a week but two bikes a week is a bit slim.

Do you have a trainer?  I find that helps a lot with kids because you can ride without getting someone to watch them.  Just figure out a way to keep them from the area around your trainer.

You also might want to look at the beginner HIM plan here on BT and also hop into the HIM plan forum.  Lots of ideas and support.

Good luck.

Edited by popsracer 2012-10-22 11:18 AM
2012-10-22 11:27 AM
in reply to: #4463438

User image