General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Help me set my bike fitness up for next year Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2012-10-31 3:59 PM

User image

Expert
Scottsdale, AZ
Subject: Help me set my bike fitness up for next year

My biggest single limiter is the bike.  Not surprising considering I'm fairly new to biking with only a year of riding (6 months of really riding) under my belt.  My HIM bike splits in the two that I've done have averaged approximately 2:45.  Two definite races for me next year are an early August HIM and an IM in November.  I'm sure there'll be some early season races but they will be C class events for me, the big picture is November.  

Currently in a marathon build and will be done with that mid January at which point I'm going to a heavy bike focus.  How would you set up bike training structure given that timeline and those goal races?  Jump into Jorge's plan in January after the Mary?  Something else first after the Mary and then Jorge's plan a 6-8 weeks later?  

Thanks for helping a newb out.

2012-10-31 9:08 PM
in reply to: #4477506

User image

Extreme Veteran
Subject: RE: Help me set my bike fitness up for next year

I intended to do Jorge's plan after getting my trainer last fall.  However, I found that simply riding a good hard effort on the trainer for 45min 5 days a week (initially) was plenty tough without throwing any intervals in.  If your cycling base isn't built up too much yet you could see huge gains from just riding a lot over the winter.  Find some good TV shows and movies and DVR everything.  Don't allow yourself to watch any TV unless you're riding the trainer.

If you can handle the intervals then go for it; you'll get stronger i'm sure.  However, the steady hard-ish pace will absolutely build your aerobic and cycling-specific endurance base.

2012-10-31 9:24 PM

Master
Northern IL

To put up one idea, this has worked well.