General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Riding in the rain Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2006-06-25 8:02 AM

User image

Veteran
Southern Maryland
Subject: Riding in the rain
Does anyone have any thoughts on riding in the rain or on wet surfaces? Today is a swim/bike day for me and it is raining cats and dogs here in southern MD. I am just now starting to feel a little more confident on the bike after a 16 haiatus and I am not terribly confident in my ability to handle a wet road yet. I may run today instead and save the ride for tomorrow. Does anyone here ride routinely in wet weather? I guess if you live in Seattle, you probably have no choice!

Thanks

Edited by susanp 2006-06-25 8:03 AM

2006-06-25 8:29 AM
in reply to: #464860

User image

Veteran
Dothan, Alabama
Subject: RE: Riding in the rain
My only experience thus far is getting caught in a downpour for about 5 miles a month ago, and another 3 miles home on wet pavement. I'm a novice on the bike, but I think handled it ok (except for being really nervous when traffic passed). Oh, and in my first sprint ever the roads were wet from rain early in the morning, but little if any standing water. So, for me, riding on wet roads, no big deal except slowing down to turn and being more careful. That said, I don't think I would choose to ride in actual rain or standing water yet. I'll be watching this thread with you to see what more experienced cyclists have to say.
2006-06-25 9:42 AM

User image

Elite
Bay Area, CA

Visibility is reduced in the rain, both for you and for the motorists.  The other thing is that wet pavement tends to be more slippery (especially the painted lines) so you'll probably need to slow down around corners and such.

That said, if you're prepared, riding in the rain can be cool, but if you're not sure about your handling skills right now, I'd probably pass.

2006-06-25 9:48 AM

User image

Veteran
Shelby Twp, MI