General Discussion Triathlon Talk » Local club race team??? Rss Feed  
Moderators: k9car363, alicefoeller Reply
2012-12-10 9:28 AM

User image

Veteran
The Woodlands, TX
Subject: Local club race team???

I was our for a long ride on Saturday and met up with some guys from the local cycling club race team. I rode with them a few hours and they invited me to join them on some of their normally scheduled group rides. I've always been a solo rider, but I can see that participating in hard group rides will really help take my riding up a notch. I've never done USAC races before, but I'm interested in doing some road races and crits this year. Are there any drawbacks for a brand new Cat 5 person associated with listing the club and the club race team when I buy a USAC License?

The club guys say that all I need to do to join the race team is list them with USAC and let their coordinator know I want in.

2012-12-10 11:46 AM
in reply to: #4529008

User image

over a barrier
Subject: RE: Local club race team???
Since you have permission from the team, you'll be fine. You don't need to show "proof" when getting a racing license through USAC.
2012-12-10 7:46 PM

Pro
yep,

typically when you get your USAC license you can choose a club/team to associate yourself with.  Some clubs/teams have certain criteria (racing in the team kit, etc.) when being part of the team.

I joined a team in Northern VA/DC area and we have a few "bi-laws" (volunteering at races we put on, buying/racing in the team kit) to abide by in order to join the team.

I must say it has been night and day different riding with the team.  Much better training structure, ability to realize how slow I actually am, and a ton of information from other teammates.

2012-12-10 8:27 PM

User image

Maybe someone can clarify, but I think if you list a team when buying your annual license, you can only race for that team that calandar year.